Research Task
Structures - Research TaskStructures
This is the "Science Overview" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science  

Last Updated: Jun 21, 2016 URL: http://loxtonhs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=520150 Print Guide RSS Updates

Science Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Junior Secondary Science Resources - Splash ABC

 

Online Science Resources

The Academy champions Australian scientific excellence, promotes and disseminates scientific knowledge, and provides independent scientific advice for the benefit of Australia and the world.  Check out the Nova NEWS section.

A highly interactive website that covers a variety of topics from science and engineering, ancient worlds to physics and math. Quizzes, resources, videos realated to a wide educational focus.

Google Scholar helps you find relevant articles & documents across the world of scholarly research.

Search across many science disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

 

State Library of SA e-Resources

Search eJournals, eBooks and useful websites by registering for Home Access to 80 State Library of SA e-resources. Click on the link below to register!

                                             

 

 

Science Overview

 

Science provides an empirical way of answering interesting and important questions about the biological, physical and technological world. The knowledge it produces has proved to be a reliable basis for action in our personal, social and economic lives. Science is a dynamic, collaborative and creative human endeavour arising from our desire to make sense of our world through exploring the unknown, investigating universal mysteries, making predictions and solving problems. Science aims to understand a large number of observations in terms of a much smaller number of broad principles. Science knowledge is contestable and is revised, refined and extended as new evidence arises.

The Australian Curriculum: Science provides opportunities for students to develop an understanding of important science concepts and processes, the practices used to develop scientific knowledge, of science’s contribution to our culture and society, and its applications in our lives. The curriculum supports students to develop the scientific knowledge, understandings and skills to make informed decisions about local, national and global issues and to participate, if they so wish, in science-related careers.

In addition to its practical applications, learning science is a valuable pursuit in its own right. Students can experience the joy of scientific discovery and nurture their natural curiosity about the world around them. In doing this, they develop critical and creative thinking skills and challenge themselves to identify questions and draw evidence-based conclusions using scientific methods. The wider benefits of this “scientific literacy” are well established, including giving students the capability to investigate the natural world and changes made to it through human activity.

The science curriculum promotes six overarching ideas that highlight certain common approaches to a scientific view of the world and which can be applied to many of the areas of science understanding. These overarching ideas are patterns, order and organisation; form and function; stability and change; systems; scale and measurement; and matter and energy.

http://www.australiancurriculum.edu.au/science/Rationale 

 

Science By Doing

Science by Doing curriculum units are made of three distinct parts which work together to deliver rich learning experiences.

The three parts making up each curriculum unit are:

The Student Guide (pdf ~ 25MB) is designed as a reference for students. It contains instructions for each activity as well as stimulus questions and images.

The Student Digital is a web-based resource for students. It includes interactive activities and video and audio clips.

The Teacher Guide is a collection of teaching notes and information to assist teachers.

Science by Doing units are free and online for teachers and students.  You will need to register an email to gain access to the units.

 

Scientific Search Engines

With a focus on science, these academic search engines return all-science, all the time.

  • SciSeek:In this science search engine and directory, you’ll find the best of what the science web has to offer. Browse by category, search by keyword, and even add new sites to the listings.
  • Chem BioFinder:Register with PerkinElmer to check out the Chem BioFinder and look up information about chemicals, including their properties and reactions.
  • Biology Browser:Biology Browser is a great resource for finding research, resources, and information in the field of biology. You can also check out their Zoological Record and BIOSIS Previews.
  • Athenus:Athenus is an authority on science and engineering on the Web, sharing a directory and full-featured web search.
  • SciCentral:Use SciCentral as your gateway to the best sources in science. This site has a literature search, journals, databases, and other great tools for finding what you need.
  • Strategian:Strategian is a great place to find quality information in all fields of science. Featured resources include free full-text books, patents, and reports, as well as full-text journal and magazine articles, plus a special collection of Vintage Biology with important articles and books in biology.
  • Science.gov:In this government science portal, you can search more than 50 databases and 2,100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies. This is an incredible resource for millions of pages of U.S. government science information.
  • CERN Document Server:This organization for nuclear research serves up a great search and directory for experiments, archives, articles, books, presentations, and so much more within their documents.
  • Analytical Sciences Digital Library:Through the Analytical Sciences Digital Library, you’ll find peer-reviewed, web-based educational resources in analytical sciences, featuring a variety of formats for techniques and applications.
  • WorldWideScience:Use WorldWideScience.org as a global science gateway, offering excellent search results in the sciences, and even the option to select specific databases and find resources in your own language.
 

Science Magazines

LHS library holds current and back copies of three science journals - Australian Science, Cosmos: the Science of Everything and Issues.

Keep abreast of national & global issues relating to scientific, technological and environmental research & debate!

Articles may be photocopied for school use.

 

 

RiAus Website

RiAus is Australia’s unique national science hub, promoting public awareness and understanding of science. At RiAus we make science fun, inspiring and accessible for all Australians. We do this by producing online content, public events, and education and teacher support programs. RiAus helps people discover the wonders of science, inspiring a new generation to learn and appreciate the importance of science in their daily life.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip